Kestrel chicks!

Remember back in March that I spotted a pair of kestrels roosting in the building opposite my flat in Barcelona? This week I finally got confirmation of something I had expected for a long, long time. They have some chicks! I think there are at least two, but I’ve only managed to snap one so far. Here it is – at lunchtime, 12.30 pm.

IMG_1775

I’m not sure what the mother has in her mouth in the second picture. Maybe a little bird like a wood warbler or something like that? I’ve also seen her out on the ledge, tearing up a mouse to feed those little beaks in her life.

IMG_1776

It’s summer in Barcelona and love is in the air!

UPDATE And of course, just after posting, I spotted two of the little blighters waiting for breakfast:

A pair of chicks

11 responses to “Kestrel chicks!

Leave a Reply

